Getting Back to ECM.

One year has gone and many things have changed. Over the last few months I’ve restarted one of my previous ECM projects.

Four years ago, I had the good fortune to participate in an e-Government project ePrague. My idea was to provide similar services to citizens as does e-Government in Australia with SmartForms solution based on Adobe LiveCycle technology. Our proposed solution was based on Sun Java System Portal Server, Adobe XFA Forms, Adobe LiveCycle ES and Documentum. Qualified digital signatures were chosen for signing electronic documents. But we ran in some problems – technical, legal, financial and finally I left development team to take some breathing space.

Now I am here with new, fresh, open source ECM stack. I got rid of proprietary, expensive, and rather outdated ECM platforms and I make these replacements:

  1. Sun Java System Portal Server –> Liferay
  2. Adobe XFA Forms –> XHTML Forms
  3. Adobe LiveCycle ES –> WSO2 Suite
  4. Documentum –> Alfresco
  5. Qualified Digital Signatures –> BrowserID

There is one novel idea of using Mozilla’s BrowserID web authentication system for electronic document signing. This concept still needs to do some research and development. If this idea does prove to be viable, the whole proposed ECM stack would be pure web-based solution that does not require installing any application or plugin on client side. Proposed architecture can fulfill actual m-Government and m-Business requirements.

Take a look at my presentation “Web-based e-Forms Workflow Automation and Digital Signatures” with live example of digital signature at LEADict.com.

